First Meeting of Nenthead Mines Conservation Society

The first meeting was held on Sunday 13 May 2012 at Nenthead.

Around 80 people came to the meeting and the new society was launched.

Peter Jackson was nominated as the Chair and Sheila Barker was unanimously elected as Membership Secretary.

Peter asked for volunteers for the 5 other committee positions. Nick Green, Alistair Myers, Ray Hall, Ben Jackson and Peter Wilkinson stepped forward and became the committee.

The committee met on the same day and agreed to review the draft constitution.  The final version will be signed off on 30th May 2012.

Donations of money have been received and volunteer help is also being offered.

News and information will be added to this website.

The membership form will shortly be available on this website.  It can also be requested by email from membership(at) or by post from Sheila Barker, Membership Secretary, NMCS, The Rise, Alston, Cumbria, CA9 3DB.  Please include a stamped addressed envelope if you require a paper copy.